NVCA Media Release NVCA Conservation Areas have gone Smoke-free - NVCA

We will no longer be supporting IE7 and below as a web browser effective June 1st 2020. Click here for more information.

Sign In

Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority Logo. Healthy Watershed, Healthy Communities.

Skip Navigation LinksNVCA > NVCA Media Release NVCA Conservation Areas have gone Smoke-free

Media Release


NVCA Conservation Areas have gone Smoke-free

UTOPIA, Ontario (February 1, 2020) – Starting in 2020, all forms of smoking will be prohibited in all conservation areas and other outdoor spaces owned and managed by the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority (NVCA), except in parking lots.

The restriction on smoking includes cigarettes, cigars, pipes, chewing any form of tobacco, smoking, using medical and non-medical cannabis and electronic cigarettes (vaping).

Smoke-free outdoor spaces can help reduce health risks of second hand smoke, as there is no safe level of exposure to second-hand smoke, even in outdoor spaces. Seeing and smelling smoke can normalize smoking for youth, and can provide sensory cues, triggering relapse for people who are trying to quit smoking.

Tobacco is also a major source of litter in communities and on beaches. The plastic in cigarette butts are made from a type of plastic that does not biodegrade. It eventually breaks down into smaller components which remains in the natural environment.

“Conservation authorities play a vital role in the health and wellness of communities," said Kyra Howes, Manager of Lands and Operations at the NVCA. “This new policy strengthens NVCA's commitment to the health of the community and also reinforces the importance of living smoke free."

NVCA's Conservation Areas include:

Edenvale Conservation Area (Township of Springwater)
Elba Wetlands (Township of Amaranth)
Historic Fort Willow Conservation Area (Township of Springwater)
Glencairn Conservation Area (Township of Adjala-Tosorontio)
Minesing Wetlands (Township of Clearview and Township of Springwater)
New Lowell Conservation Area (Township of Clearview)
Nottawasaga Bluffs Conservation Area (Township of Clearview)
Osprey Wetlands Conservation Area (Municipality of the Grey Highlands)
Petun Conservation Area (Town of Blue Mountains)
Tiffin Conservation Area (Township of Essa)
Tottenham Conservation Area (Town of New Tecumseth)
Utopia Conservation Area (Township of Essa)

For more information about the dangers of smoking, visit the Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit's website at http://www.simcoemuskokahealth.org/.


- 30 -

About NVCA: The Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority is a public agency dedicated to the preservation of a healthy environment through specialized programs to protect, conserve and enhance our water, wetlands, forests and lands.

Media contact: Maria Leung, Communications Coordinator 705-424-1479 ext.254, mleung@nvca.on.ca